Never say always, because you are human.

I am always inspired to write. This is what I had declared in one of my previous blog posts.But today I am least inspired or creative enough to write a good blog. I will always oil my hair before going to bed, this is what I had told myself when I had just cut my hair some months back. It’s been some days since I’ve oiled it and it looks like Einstein’s, the only difference being that mine is black. I will always have a fixed schedule all my life, I had decided. But well…! I will always hit the gym and transform myself into a good looking human being whose arms don’t look like a shapeless mass of wobbly flesh hanging to some bones. But I couldn’t continue with gym and just yesterday, I squealed with disgust at a photograph, of me feeding somebody some cake. My arms were far from toned, they were in fact…okay, I wont criticise them further as they are the ones typing this blog.

I will always keep this secret, I had thought to myself when I had heard something that I was to not tell anyone. But I realised that I couldn’t. I will always maintain a great performance in my exams, I had promised. But I am beginning to realise how difficult that is. I will always sleep on time,and get atleast 6 hours of rest, I had planned. But here I am, blogging well past 10:30 ( it’s 12:56). Also, I had believed that I should always be able to do my best. But now, I think otherwise.

We cant do our best always. The sooner we accept this, the better it is for us. Always is a word that stands for permanence, and permanence is not for transient human life. So, always trying is the phrase for us, for failing, falling and trying to better ourselves is the real human struggle!

9 thoughts on “Never say always, because you are human.

  1. Yash Agrawal says:

    “permanence is not for transient human life.” In Buddhist philosophy there is the concept of impermanence. Initially Gautama Buddha spoke about the temporariness of only soul; it is called aniccata or anityataa and is one of the ‘signs of reality’ according to Buddhist philosophy. Later, however, this concept of temporariness was extended to apply to all things, everthing and everyone. It is called kshanikavada or the theory of momentariness. Everything is in a state of constant change, and change is the only permanent thing. Living as well as non-living things, all change every moment. This is a very interesting and attractive philosophical theory. So I feel that the attitude, feelings, mood of a human is also obviously changing. The future is unpredictable. We cannot decide and keep what we will do in future. Resolutions that we make about being regular in future in doing something, or following a schedule or doing our best are a good thing as they motivate us, but we can’t expect them to be sincerely fulfilled. Our mood, aims in our life, etc. that we have now may be different than at a point of time in the future. Moreover anything can happen at any moment which may be an obstacle to our decided schedule. For example, I had planned to write this comment a long time ago when I read your article. However, I kept procrastinating this and felt lazy to type it. For some time then, I forgot about it. When I remembered and when I would be in the mood to type it, I would get busy in some other work that would come up. And when I would have the time, I would be tired and not in the mood to write this comment. Finally, I wrote it now ! Thus, we should not be disappointed when we don’t fulfil our goals as per what we plan, on time. We must try, but not expect the best.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yash Agrawal says:

    “permanence is not for transient human life.” In Buddhist philosophy there is the concept of impermanence. Initially Gautama Buddha spoke about the temporariness of only soul; it is called aniccata or anityataa and is one of the ‘signs of reality’ according to Buddhist philosophy. Later, however, this concept of temporariness was extended to apply to all things, everthing and everyone. It is called kshanikavada or the theory of momentariness. Everything is in a state of constant change, and change is the only permanent thing. Living as well as non-living things, all change every moment. This is a very interesting and attractive philosophical theory. So I feel that the attitude, feelings, mood of a human is also obviously changing. The future is unpredictable. We cannot decide and keep what we will do in future. Resolutions that we make about being regular in future in doing something, or following a schedule or doing our best are a good thing as they motivate us, but we can’t expect them to be sincerely fulfilled. Our mood, aims in our life, etc. that we have now may be different than at a point of time in the future. Moreover anything can happen at any moment which may be an obstacle to our decided schedule. For example, I had planned to write this comment a long time ago when I read your article. However, I kept procrastinating this and felt lazy to type it. For some time then, I forgot about it. When I remembered and when I would be in the mood to type it, I would get busy in some other work that would come up. And when I would have the time, I would be tired and not in the mood to write this comment. Finally, I wrote it now! Thus, we should not be disappointed when we don’t fulfil our goals as per what we plan, on time. We must try, but not expect the best.

    Like

    • Amrita Shenoy says:

      Hello Yash! I thank you for taking out time, using philosophical facts and writing such a beautiful comment. Yes. You are absolutely right, we must try—- not expect the best every time. Also, like you, even I procrastinate a lot! 😛
      Apart from this, why don’t you write a blog yourself? You write beautifully 🙂

      Like

  3. Yash Agrawal says:

    Thank you for saying that I write beautifully. I am pleased ! I shall think upon your suggestion. The thing is that I am only occasionally able to write well. It is difficult for me to come up with a topic myself. It more happens that I get thoughts in my mind when I read other articles, and am able to comment on them. But I can’t easily start a topic myself. If I write a blog, I would be very irregular.

    Like

  4. Alpona says:

    Hello.
    I was going through your blogposts and let me tell you, they are more motivating/inspiring/ aspiring (or any other adjective that fits the bill) than you might think they are. I guess you should definitely try and send your writings to the ‘Chicken Soup for the Soul’ series (you could check out their site).
    Keep up your dedication and diligence.
    Cheers! :’)

    Like

Leave a Reply

